YikeBike Carbon Review

Yikebike Carbon Electric Bike Review
Yikebike Carbon
Yikebike Carbon Folded
Yikebike Carbon Lights
Yikebike Carbon Foot Rests
Yikebike Carbon Two Wheels Attachment
Yikebike Carbon Two People
Yikebike Carbon Electric Bike Review
Yikebike Carbon
Yikebike Carbon Folded
Yikebike Carbon Lights
Yikebike Carbon Foot Rests
Yikebike Carbon Two Wheels Attachment
Yikebike Carbon Two People

Summary

  • Ultra portable folding electric transport that rides like a bike without pedals, this is the utlra light weight version made with Carbon fiber
  • Folds to just 1.52 cubic feet, weighs less than 25 pounds and can be lifted with one hand
  • Sophisticated electronics include front and rear lights, turn signals, blinkers, horn chirp and regenerative braking

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

YikeBike

Model:

Carbon

Price:

$4,995

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Commuting, Travel, Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

China, France, Japan, New Zealand, Singapore, UAE, United States

Model Year:

20132014

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

24.7 lbs (11.2 kg)

Frame Types:

Compact, Folding

Frame Material:

Carbon Fiber and Composites

Frame Colors:

Black Carbon, Orange, Red, Blue, Green, Yellow, White

Pedals:

No Pedals, Aluminum Alloy Foot Pegs

Handlebar:

Hydro Formed Aluminum, Rear Wrap Design

Brake Details:

Regenerative Motor Brake

Saddle:

Foam with Water Resistant PU Cover

Seat Post:

Reinforced Fiberglass (Provides Flexibility for Comfort)

Rims:

Aluminum Extruded

Accessories:

Included: Carry Bag, Shoulder Strap, Tool Kit with Valve Adapter (to Inflate Front Tire) and Allen Keys, LED Headlights on Bar Ends, LED Rear Lights with Flashing Turn Signals and Chirping Noise, Optional Double-Wheel Rear Platform ~$600, Optional Extender Battery Pack, Can be Wrapped for Custom Colors and Logos

Other:

Rear Wheel is Fiberglass and Plastic with 6 Ply Tire with Thorn Proof Tube, Maximum Weight 220 lbs, Folded Size 43 liters, Recommended Rider Height: Between 5'1" and 6'4"

Electronic Details

Motor Type:

Front-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

200 watts

Motor Peak Output:

450 watts

Battery Voltage:

37 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

6.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

244.2 wh

Battery Brand:

Sony

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Manganese

Charge Time:

4 hours (1.5 Hours with Optional 5 Amp Fast Charger, Standard Charger is 2 Amps)

Estimated Min Range:

7 miles (11 km)

Estimated Max Range:

10 miles (16 km)

Display Type:

LED Console

Drive Mode:

Trigger Throttle (On Right Bar)

Top Speed:

14.3 mph (23 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The YikeBike is more of a transporter than a bike because it’s fully electric powered, you can’t pedal it. It’s Composed of two wheels with one behind the other just like a bicycle but you steer partially with your legs and partially with handlebars that come from behind and wrap around the sides. It resembles the penny-farthing or “ordinary bicycle” of the mid 1800’s that had a very large front wheel and smaller stabilizer in the rear. And just like these old fashioned bikes, the YikeBike can be a bit unstable at first. The YikeBike’s motor is built right in to the front wheel system and offers good torque for hill climbing, a decent top speed and even regenerative braking.

The YikeBike can be a thrilling experience for the first few rides because you rely on your legs to stabilize more than your arms and feet as with a more traditional bicycle. Thankfully, the seating position isn’t very far off the ground and the top speed is about 15 miles per hour so it doesn’t feel dangerous to learn. It operates much like the strider bicycles that have become popular for teaching kids how to ride. Once you’re moving forward, the bike becomes more stable and feet can be rested on two silver pegs extruding from the front wheel base. The trick to stabilizing the ride is gently squeezing your legs together to help steer the front wheel.

In my opinion, the YikeBike is all about enabling commuters. It makes getting to or from the subway, train or bus station more manageable. No more slow walks, no more sweating and best of all, no more oversized systems that are too heavy to lift. I’m talking to you Mr. Segway! The Carbon is the top of the line model weighing in at under 25 pounds! It folds down to the size of a large briefcase and can be carried in one hand. It also looks relatively cool (especially in the carbon weave) and won’t seem out of place leaning against a desk in an office. Taking just five seconds to completely fold or unfold, it truly is convenient.

Driving the YikeBike is a 450 watt motor built right into the front wheel. You can’t see it but you do hear it whirring as you squeeze the throttle on the right handlebar. 450 watts is quite a lot of power for such a small, lightweight system. The battery supporting this motor offers 37 volts of power and 6.6 amp hours of range. Overall, this is quite good and the bike feels very capable riding around on the flats. Even though the range and ride time is a bit more limited than full sized ebikes, the charge time is significantly less at just 1.5 or 4 hours depending on if you use the quick charger. If you left one charger at the office, you’d have no problem topping the YikeBike off before riding home or even out to lunch.

The downsides to this system are the learning curve to figure out how to ride, higher pricepoint (relative to the Synergy or Fusion) and lack of shock absorbers or suspension. Given the lower top speeds and primary use of sidewalks or bike lanes however, the YikeBike rides well enough and isn’t that uncomfortable. The tires offer a bit of give along with the seat and I found that pushing myself up using the foot rests reduced the shock of larger bumps. Overall, it’s a quirky but functional machine that does its job well. One of the big up-selling points from the lower end Fusion is the locking mechanism for the rear wheel. The two higher end YikeBikes also feature carbon accents and a slightly cooler frame design.

A lot of thought has gone into this very custom electric vehicle from New Zealand. It’s got headlights, tail lights, turn signals, flashing hazard lights and even a small chirping horn. It’s definitely a head turner, something you’d expect to see in a science fiction movie. Considering the price of ~$4,000 Carbon feels expensive but is definitely lighter weight. For an extra 6 pounds of weight you could save $2,000 and get the lower-end Fusion which is basically the same in terms of drive system.

I remember when the Segway came out, it got a lot of questions and criticism but eventually found a niche with security personnel and city tours. The YikeBike addresses the needs of a much larger audience on a more practical level. It cuts out that “extra mile” stopping so many people from commuting to work with more efficient, sustainable public transportation options. The Carbon is a wonderful electric “bike” but it won’t help you burn the same calories as a true pedaling ebike would. Keep that in mind because the max recommended weight is 220 pounds… Max recommended height is 6’4″.

Pros:

  • Folds and unfolds very easily and quickly
  • Gets extremely compact when folded, just 1.52 cubic feet – the size of a large briefcase
  • Weighs just under 25 pounds, liftable with one hand
  • Large and powerful 450 watt motor driven by 37 volt 6.6 amp hour battery pack
  • Features regenerative braking to extend range and smooth out stops
  • Includes front and rear lights, turn signals, hazards and an electronic horn
  • Optional “training wheel” system makes balancing easier and enables two riders but becomes annoying at higher speeds
  • Can be skinned for branding or promotional purposes and comes in seven color choices

Cons:

  • Takes a bit of practice to learn the best riding technique (squeeze front wheel with legs for stability)
  • No shocks or major cushions, still rides pretty well
  • Rides for less than one hour at full speed, can still travel ~10 miles per charge
  • Horn isn’t especially loud, mostly used like a bell to signal to pedestrians and other riders
  • The Carbon is $1,000 more than the Synergy and $2,000 more than the Fusion but offers basically the same kit at a few less pounds

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Yikebike Reviews

YikeBike Model V Review

  • MSRP: $4,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A light weight, ultra-compact and folding, last mile electric transporter solution that looks kind of quirky and doesn't come cheap. Designed in New Zealand and available internationally, the Model V comes standard with the traditional…...

YikeBike Synergy Review

  • MSRP: $3,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Ultra portable folding electric transport that rides like a bike but lacks pedals. Folds and unfolds very quickly and easily, folded size is just 1.52 cubic feet...

YikeBike Fusion Review

  • MSRP: $3,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Ultra portable folding electric transporter that rides like a bike but doesn't use pedals. Folding and unfolding is extremely fast, folded size is just 1.52 cubic feet...


Mark
3 years ago

Hi! It says that the riders weight must is 100kg, what happens with the passenger attachment as this would surely exceed the 100kg limit unless the two riders were featherweight! Thanks!

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

Hi Mark, that’s a really great question… I’m not as familiar with the YikeBike and it’s hard to comment on their weight limit. Where did you find the 100kg (220lb) weight limit? You make a great point that this seems low for two riders however I did see two people doing just this at Interbike (it was a man and a woman). Their combined weight was probably over 100kg as you suggest but I cannot say for sure. Maybe the stated max weight is for liability but the bike can actually work with more weight?

Reply
SEBAOON
2 years ago

Where can i find and buy your product in France or in Europe ? Thanks by advance for your answer. R.S

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

John from Connecticut
9 hours ago

I've been studying bikes for some time the past two years. I was one of those ones that scoffed at spending even a couple of thousand on electric bike let alone a normal bike.

These days I've come to appreciate quality but also knowing how to make a dollar stretch even still.

I'm torn in choosing. So let's take the Pesu for example. It's light weight, around 48 I think. It's got some good torque. Top speed 28. Looks good. Only drawback is no throttle what if you break a chain? Or what if you just want throttle? But for the price of 1800$ wow.. and that tittium motor. 100nm torque

When I look at a bike like the specialized Turbo 4000$ ugh. Not sure if that one has a throttle or not either.

Now there's always the do-it-yourself approach with the bafang 1000w or 750 watt and you can have a throttle but the drawback is you get a heavy bike that doesn't look like a normal bike.. and it really doesn't look nice at all.

The ultimate approach would be to have a bike that looks less like an electric bike, lightweight mountain bike. Speed closer to 30 than 20. High torque. Premium components without having to shell out 4000 and beyond.

If I could just have a throttle on the Pesu, I think that would be cool. Although I've never had an electric bike so I don't know what to expect in terms of torque and
power. Mostly riding around in the city but when hitting the trails in Mountain would like to have another torque to get up the mountain with a nice work out. BTW I weigh in at 275. Any help would be appreciated.

Hello,
What bike to buy ??? There's such a range and choice. This past July I purchased a Trek XM700+ and have not regretted it one bit. I love the bike and
would do it all over again in a second. I'd been riding a Trex 7.7 FX carbon touring bike.... I had never ridden an e-Bike...didn't really know much about them, but was
interested... My LBS had a Trek XM700+ for demo. I took it out for 15 minutes and there was no turning back. I bought one. For me the bike is just so much fun.

Nearly all of my riding is paved trails and or very isolated quiet streets. The Trek XM700+ is not great on gravel/stone
trails or at least I don't feel secure on it, I really enjoy the entire experience of riding on rails to trails gravel /stone dust trails so I bought a Trek Powerfly7 MTN
bike. The Powerfly7 is fantastic, incredibly stable, and again like the XM700+ just the greatest to ride.

A friend of mine has a Raleigh with a throttle, he let me take it for a 'spin'. It was fast ( perhaps a bit too fast) , but after riding it I prefer
my Trek's with the Bosch motor system pedal assist. The Bosch system is silky smooth shifting etc....Bottom line. All these e-Bikes bikes are personal
preference and what's most important to you the rider. What Trek has built into their bikes is important to me. I didn't know that until I took my
15 test ride : ) ...I'm not saying Trek is the 'only game in town' I'm sure there are other equally good e-Bikes out there.

I hope my rambling was some help,

John from CT

roshan
3 days ago

I see what you done there. The Sava is a carbon frame. Comes in around $899 but itself.

Nice. I'm sure it's faster than fast, and betcha it pulls wheelies going uphill if you're not careful.

It sure goes like stink.

rich c
5 days ago

I ride a 2016 XDURO Full Seven S RX, love the bike and love the 28mph boost with riding streets. My bike has the Schwalbe Super Moto-X. Work great on dirt trails if there is no mud. We can't ride around here when anything sticks to the tires anyway. So I drop the psi and enjoy the ride over rocks and roots. Personally, I just can't see the advantage of Carbon Fiber frames. Especially since it has the motor. An aluminum version will be about half price for less than 9 pounds savings. I'd go on a diet to take off 9 pounds if someone would pay me $3000.

Shaggy
5 days ago

Last year, prices got most marked down close to Christmas. But then most models quickly sold out, leaving the extra smalls and extra larges mostly. There were complaints about not enough Haibikes being imported into US. Is that situation the same this year?

I wasn't looking to spend this much, but this sure does tickle my fancy. Any opinions about discount or the model itself? It's a 2017 model with the 500watt battery and Intuvia display which I prefer over purion.

Haibike XDURO FullSeven Carbon 8.0 - 2017 model
List Price: $8,499.00, Current Price: $5,999.0, Savings: $2,500.00
http://www.motostrano.com/Haibike-XDURO-FullSeven-Carbon-80-2017-p/xdfs80.htm

thanks to all in advance!

bob armani
6 days ago

Hi guys i want to introduce you this awesome electric skateboard i just saw online: Made of carbon fiber so it's ultra lightweight, it has 3 custom ride modes (I'd love to try that) and swappable battery, the design is just beautiful! What do you think abuot this beauty? I think I'm gonna get one, I love it https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/fiboard-ultimate-carbon-fiber-electric-skateboard/#/
Hi Eros-

Not too familiar with these kinds of sites to purchase. If you sent them the $772.oo dollars for the early bird offer, is there any guarantee they will send you the board?
I was just curious about the risks involved with donating to a campaign such as the one you have referenced. Good Luck with your purchase. Looks like a great board with all of the bells and whistles. BTW- I thought the Boosted and Inboards M1 were the best on the market right now??

C7Ken
6 days ago

I have been part of a hybrid cycling group here in spain for around four years. The group has got much faster and diversified into road bikes as well. The hybrids have got much lighter with many carbon bikes. Of course I have got older so its hard to keep up when we arrive at a hill. So the answer for me was go electric. I bought a bafang bbs01b 350watt kit and a 17ah battery. Now no problem. I always pedal strongly to help the motor and can see 50kph on the lcd with a range of 125kms to one charge. Attention to detail is important as my history was building and racing both cars and motor cycles. No one not even the young fliers on carbon bikes have said anything negative about my decision as they all agree I will be the first of many.

Eros Di Miele
7 days ago

Hi guys i want to introduce you this awesome electric skateboard i just saw online: Made of carbon fiber so it's ultra lightweight, it has 3 custom ride modes (I'd love to try that) and swappable battery, the design is just beautiful! What do you think abuot this beauty? I think I'm gonna get one, I love it https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/fiboard-ultimate-carbon-fiber-electric-skateboard/#/

Kim S
2 weeks ago

Hey there. This is a great build thread and great to hear the bike is riding well after a year.
1. I am curious if you felt the need to switch out to the front suspension instead of the carbon fork?
2. Have you ridden something with MidFat tires? Bike paths where I commute have similar issues you described earlier.
3. Has the Rohloff shown signs of wear ? In my current build, I go through a cassette every 400 -500 miles. Chain slips, adjusting derailleur, changing cassettes is great for the first few times but that effort adds over time.

EbikesRock
2 weeks ago

I'll be the first to post here because we have a few of the BESVs on the floor and any local NorCal riders are welcome to visit either of our stores for a test ride.

The PS1: http://www.motostrano.com/BESV-PS1-Electric-Bike-p/besvps1.htm

is an interesting bike for it's materials, components and size.

It's carbon frame gives it a very light weight and durable platform. Front and rear suspension
compensate for the small tires and give it a plush ride. Great components and a punch motor
make it a neat little traffic buzz saw.

BESV are made by Darfon which also supplies some bikes and components for the Vanmoof ebike.

Joe
Am I the only one that thinks these are the ugliest ebikes?

fxr3
2 weeks ago

carbon forks 26” wheel, 15mm axle and fender.
New take-off. Couple of light scratches from removing from bike.
PayPal and i’ll Pay shipping 8056250223

1/3
ecorecoscooteruser
2 weeks ago

Update: My M5 has over 1000 miles and still going strong. I did have to send it back to the company a few months back when something shorted due to moisture. The company repaired it for free and sent it back to me. However, when I was without the M5, I wasn't a happy camper...

This past week I received the ecoreco XS model (did the indegogo back in Jan). The XS is their budget model. First impressions out of the box was that it was very sleek with all the carbon fiber, really big and bright front LED light bar, and very very light compared to the M5. The throttle and breaks were also the updated paddle type vs the grip on the m5. So much slicker cosmetically than the M5. Unfortunately, having the M5 ride experience, the XS is definitely NOT a replacement.

The XS lets you choose between 3 separate ride levels, limiters. On the highest, level 3, the fastest I could go was about 11 mph - seemed like 8-9 was average. Very slow compared to the speed of the M5 where I am zipping by bicycles sometimes. Also, on my daily commute where I go 2 miles each way, the battery meter kept dipping to one bar on my way back. It would recover to 2 bar when I let go of the accelerator, but looks like 4-5 miles on level 3 is about its limit (which is what is represent by ecoreco anyway).

I ordered this as part of the indigogo kickstarter type thing back in Jan. The XS is still listed as not available on the ecoreco website, and the s/n is a very neat round number, so I'm thinking my XS might be one of the first to ship. But in any event, if ecoreco had upped the battery pack on this and upp'd the speed to 15 mph, this would be an M5 replacement (which is probably why they didn't). There's an petite older lady in my building who wanted to try out my M5 - I've been alittle hesitant due to its weight and speed. The XS is something I'd definitely recommend to her since its much lighter. Would also be good for older kids who might lose control using an M5.

FYI, the charge on mine shipped without the wall plug. But I noticed that the charger they ultimately used is different from the one pictured on their online manual. It doesn't need to be oriented to plug in, as it like a laptop plug. The online manual also doesn't explain anything about the ride levels, and has some other problems that probably relate to features that were dropped in the final product.

When I registered my XS with ecoreco, they provided a discount code (4m8pks). I know the M5 discount code (NJfVCY) gave $50 off any one who uses it, but I don't know what sort of discount one would get with an XS discount which is much cheaper ($400 vs originally $1200 for the M5, now their equivalent models are in the $800-$900 range). But every little bit helps, right?

Deafcat
2 weeks ago

Can these be ordered and what would the price be? Is that a BBS02 or BBSHD? And what battery would be used and where mounted ?

The other folder I was looking at is http://scooteretti.com/product/tern-vektron/. but at $4400Cdn, a little pricey.

BBSHD on a tiny carbon folding bike = no bueno! hahaha

pretty sure its BBS02B

JRA
3 weeks ago

Black bike has a carbon fork and the silver bike has an aluminum fork and using the same size tire/rim width at the same psi there is no noticeable difference in the ride quality whatsoever.

Running lower tire pressure has a much bigger effect on dampening out vibrations than most give credit to. And from my experience doesn't affect mileage enough to warrant running higher psi and trying to alleviate vibration with materials that "flex".

My .02

1/1
Ken M
3 weeks ago

I’m not a big fan of carbon, as 99% of the time if carbon fails it’s fractured and catastrophic failure.
With alum it’s a bent Item most the time.
I rather ride home bent then broken.
I also find carbon to be more rigid then alum.

I would probably not want these components to be carbon if I were ridding mtn ebikes but more and more high-end forks, seat posts, and bars are going to carbon so that must mean they are durable. I was mainly interested in feedback relative to urban bike riding where the likelihood of carbon being damaged or highly stressed is much lower.

As for reliability/safety of aluminum for rigid forks, I know Haibike recently had a recall on multiple models for the possibility of their aluminum forks failing catastrophically.

I have a Haibike Trekking model I recently changed out the active suspension fork to rigid carbon and also change from aluminum on the bars and seat post and the bikes unquestionably has a better ride quality. I can put most of my weight on the carbon bars and actually see some flex so I know they are somewhat actively dampening out more vibrations than the OEM aluminum bars did. Canyon and Specialized have carbon setposts models that have 20mm+ of active flex designed in and they have received excellent reviews for performing nearly as well as active seat posts like the Thudbuster and Bodyfloat at a far lower weight.

I'm really wondering if most riders are aware that some of these components are available in carbon for not much more than aluminum which is skewing the polls results (carbon has a reputation of being very expensive and it still is for rims and frames and active suspensions made of carbon).

harryS
3 weeks ago

I see what you done there. The Sava is a carbon frame. Comes in around $899 but itself.

Nice. I'm sure it's faster than fast, and betcha it pulls wheelies going uphill if you're not careful.

TntE3+
3 weeks ago

I’m not a big fan of carbon, as 99% of the time if carbon fails it’s fractured and catastrophic failure.
With alum it’s a bent Item most the time.
I rather ride home bent then broken.
I also find carbon to be more rigid then alum.

kingsuk222
3 weeks ago

I am an electric skateboard fan. From my early life I played with different kinds of Skateboards and I know the advantages and disadvantages while using various type of electric skateboards.Among all types I loved the First Full Carbon Fiber Electric Skateboard shown @ https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/fiboard-ultimate-carbon-fiber-electric-skateboard/#/

kingsuk222
3 weeks ago

HEY EVERYONE!! I believe it's obvious many of you a thrill seekers because you are on a bike forum!! I am myself and i like to try different things and electric boards are the jam. I'm super excited about this new electric board i've discovered. It's time to evolve in the way we board and electric boarding is great for cruising thru cities and just an evening out with friends. Check out Fiboard and see what the hype is all about!!! https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/fiboard-ultimate-carbon-fiber-electric-skateboard/#/
I am an electric skateboard fan. From my early life I played with different kinds of Skateboards and I know the advantages and disadvantages while using various type of electric skateboards.Among all types I loved the First Full Carbon Fiber Electric Skateboard

Ann M.
3 weeks ago

Lucus, I have a customer who uses a carbon fiber skateboard to commute to the rail station and get to work. Couldn't believe how much power & how compact & light it was. Handled like a champ :). Don't know if it is the same brand but I was impressed.

Lucus J
3 weeks ago

HEY EVERYONE!! I believe it's obvious many of you a thrill seekers because you are on a bike forum!! I am myself and i like to try different things and electric boards are the jam. I'm super excited about this new electric board i've discovered. It's time to evolve in the way we board and electric boarding is great for cruising thru cities and just an evening out with friends. Check out Fiboard and see what the hype is all about!!! https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/fiboard-ultimate-carbon-fiber-electric-skateboard/#/

smitty
3 weeks ago

If you compare the setlist with those for the ST2s, you'll missing some brand names like fizik or magura - and the carbon fork.

Thanks Bluecat...the ST-2S is looking like it might be a "good" buy with the carbon fork and Magura brakes, if the price drops to 9K? Love the sleekness of the ST-5, but agree with Ravi about the rack nonsense...and why would they not put the carbon fork on at that price point?

ScottO
3 weeks ago

I just got a new 2018 Levo Comp Carbon. I've tried 6 times to do this and no luck.

Mr. Coffee
4 weeks ago

A couple of observations...

The first is that weight matters. In one sense it might matter less on an electric bike, but more weight pretty directly translates into less range. Which you will care about a great deal on an electric bike. While shaving grams on a 25kg bike might not make that big a difference, shaving a kg or two would be a huge deal. There is still furious debate in the cycling world about carbon fiber components and whether they are worth it.

My other thought is that I like the feel of steel-framed bike. Aluminum and carbon-frame bikes flex differently. For me it is most noticeable if you are going on a fast downhill, although (and perhaps paradoxically) it is also noticeable if you are standing up and pedaling up a steep hill. Many others don't seem to notice but that is my $.02.

ronin2000
4 weeks ago

Those are MTBers though, not eMTBers. I never disputed the benefits of Carbon on regular MTB's. But you bring up some fair points, and eMTB competition might end up becoming a thing, but MTBers really seem to hate eMTB's.

There are e-MTB races now too. E-MTB is the future, we better get use to it. Think of E-motors as the modern day multi gear of the past.

Nikita Onassis
6 months ago

It was worth maybe 5 K to 7 K when it was made for its aesthetics and lack of electric scooters within that range then. Today 2016, there are many electric bike alternatives.
Two flaws is basic engineering perhaps if you looked at a bicycle and electric scooter, which is spring seats and trainer wheels axle and spring. You can get electric scooter of 8 kg with similar range like "emicro one" for a third of Vs, 11kg version price.

pagb22
8 months ago

You might not know what you're watching but I certainly know what I am!

NickTheAsome
12 months ago

it's not worth 4 grand

fatin yusoff
12 months ago

a they sell it at laxada

TERESA ONA
1 year ago

It's a nice bike and seems very useful but too expensive, 8k dollars? too much

Linda Nitzschke
1 year ago

I think I'll stick with my Trikke Pon-e 48v, thank you!!  Costs a lot less, and you can either get some exercise doing the carving motion...or just ride it.  Goes a little faster, too, and has at least twice the range.

TeroBassed
1 year ago

wow!"!11 a bike that goes fast as you could run when theres elecric scooters that go up to 40km/h that cost less than 1000 dollars. just buy an motorbike. lol

Free From Wages
4 months ago

TeroBassed yup or a moped

Red Woods
2 years ago

Ridiculous over-priced yuppy toy. All that design effort wasted on a low sale product,

DE_MACHO_NACHO 21
2 years ago

did you notice the guy middle fingering you at 2:29

CharlesBass627
2 years ago

More like the yikes bike

Stephane Plays
2 years ago

Did you se the guy in the background when he was riding it

tubularmonkeymaniac
2 years ago

"I don't even know what I'm watching now"...pans down to girls behind

Alex Paulsen
2 years ago

I hate these because they carry their own rules here in New Zealand, which requires the proper authorities to make some rules for it. They're allowed to be used on pedestrian access ways, which I think is foolish, yet they deserve no place on the road either. They're noisy, slow, and they have a pathetic range.

Yasser Bargaba
2 years ago

Waste of money

Nabil Ouchen
2 years ago

Chuck
Cyndi

fretting

Boki Mne
3 years ago

Awesome!! Price is litle to much but I am realy impressed!

Josh DeWall
3 years ago

Wow that horn was soooo LOUD! not

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+Josh DeWall As someone with a loud, rude mouth... you would know ;)

Josh DeWall
3 years ago

Looks almost as ridiculous as your glasses and worse then your stupid shoes! Too much bulky plastic. Looks like it came out of the late or early 90's. But it does look kinda cool but it can't be easy to ride. Why not spend your energy in making something easier to drive?

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+Josh DeWall It's not very easy to ride at first but then gets kind of fun. I'm not sure it's the ebike I'd choose to buy but it was fun to see. I think their latest model features the three wheel design for stability: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/154074401/yikebike-undiscovered

Dusty Kessler
3 years ago

Wow, this is a great review. Not sure how I'm just now finding out about this company but they look amazing. If you don't mind me asking, how were you able to get a demo on the YikeBike? I am guessing this is at some sort of convention in Vegas. I'm also wondering if you would be willing to forward me any names of a YB product reps you may have. My mother has limited mobility due to MS and I think this would be a game changer for her. Thanks!

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Hi Dustin, great guess! I attended Interbike in 2013 and was able to test ride this and other products at the show. I do not have direct contact information for the YikeBike team unfortunately... I tried to contact them earlier this year about the Kickstarter campaign they launched but nobody responded.

Garry Byrne
3 years ago

I think I know how it got it's name. Someone asked the price and, upon hearing it, went: "yike!".

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+Garry Byrne Ha! I could see that... this thing is quite expensive and I'm not sure the design is right. They have a new model on Kickstarter that seems to be doing well: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/154074401/yikebike-undiscovered

James Chambers
3 years ago

What's the battery life/range of these Yikebikes?

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+James Chambers I estimate 7 to 10 miles depending on rider weight, terrain and weather. Full specs including voltage and watt hours at http://electricridereview.com/yikebike/carbon/