YikeBike Model V Review

Yikebike Model V Review
Yikebike Model V
Yikebike Model V Enclosed Motor Battery Wheel Folding Pegs
Yikebike Model V Led Headlights Steering Bar
Yikebike Model V Led Turn Signals And Brakes
Yikebike Model V Three Wheel Stability Training Setup
Yikebike Model V Left Bar Grip
Yikebike Model V Right Bar Horn Turn Signal
Yikebike Model V Stand And Transport Bag
Yikebike Model V 5 Amp Charger With International Plugs
Yikebike Model V Review
Yikebike Model V
Yikebike Model V Enclosed Motor Battery Wheel Folding Pegs
Yikebike Model V Led Headlights Steering Bar
Yikebike Model V Led Turn Signals And Brakes
Yikebike Model V Three Wheel Stability Training Setup
Yikebike Model V Left Bar Grip
Yikebike Model V Right Bar Horn Turn Signal
Yikebike Model V Stand And Transport Bag
Yikebike Model V 5 Amp Charger With International Plugs

Summary

  • A light weight, ultra-compact and folding, last mile electric transporter solution that looks kind of quirky and doesn't come cheap
  • Designed in New Zealand and available internationally, the Model V comes standard with the traditional two wheel setup as well as a three-wheel balance attachment
  • Limited top speed under 15 mph, excellent acceleration control with variable speed trigger throttle and automatic regeneration slowdown as well as a brake
  • Inflatable tires add cushion but may be vulnerable to thorns and pinch flats, seated design keeps body weight low and relatively stable, fold-out pegs let you brace for bumps

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

YikeBike

Model:

Model V

Price:

$4,995

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting, Travel

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

China, France, Japan, New Zealand, Singapore, UAE, United States

Model Year:

2016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

30 lbs (13.6 kg)

Frame Types:

Compact, Folding

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminium, PA6-GF Nylon

Frame Colors:

Charcoal, Silver, Gold

Geometry Measurements:

Folded: 24" Height, 22.5" Length, 6.5" Width, Unfolded: 30" Height, 41" Length, 25.5" Width

Cranks:

Folding Aluminum Pegs

Pedals:

No Pedals, Aluminum Alloy Foot Pegs

Handlebar:

Hydro Formed Aluminum, Rear Wrap Design

Brake Details:

Regenerative Motor Brake

Grips:

Rubber Contact, Plastic Body

Saddle:

Foam with Water Resistant PU Cover

Seat Post:

Reinforced Fiberglass (Provides Flexibility for Comfort)

Rims:

Aluminum Extruded and Plastic

Tire Brand:

Front: Primo, 20" x 1.35", Back: Heng Shin 8" x 1.25"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)8 in (20.32cm)

Tire Details:

Front: 100 PSI, Back 90 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Carry Bag, Shoulder Strap, Tool Kit with Valve Adapter (To Inflate Front Tire) and Allen Keys, White LED Headlights on Bar Ends, Red LED Rear Lights with Amber LED Flashing Turn Signals and Chirping Noise (Audio Piezo Electric Horn and Indicator signals), Optional Extender Battery Pack, Can be Wrapped for Custom Colors and Logos, 3 Wheel Accessory (Included with Model V, 4.2 lbs)

Other:

1.5 lb 5 Amp Charger 220 and 110 (Thailand, Mexico, Europe and US Adapters), Rear Wheel is Fiberglass and Plastic with 6 Ply Tire and Thorn Proof Tube, Maximum Weight 220 lbs, Folded Size 43 Liters, Recommended Rider Height: Between 5'1" and 6'4", Rated to Climb 9% (5 Degrees) Gradient

Electronic Details

Motor Type:

Front-Mounted Geared Motor (6000 RPM Brushless DC Electric Motor)
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

200 watts

Motor Peak Output:

450 watts

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

6.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

237 wh

Battery Brand:

Sony

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Manganese

Charge Time:

1.5 hours (1.5 Hours with Optional 5 Amp Fast Charger, Standard Charger is 2 Amps)

Estimated Min Range:

7 miles (11 km)

Estimated Max Range:

10 miles (16 km)

Display Type:

LED Console

Display Accessories:

Horn, Off/On Switch, Turn Signal

Drive Mode:

Trigger Throttle (On Right Bar)

Top Speed:

14.3 mph (23 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The YikeBike is a unique urban transporter that handles like a bicycle but doesn’t use pedals, you use foot pegs for stability and squeeze the front wheel between your calves when riding. Instead of leaning forward to reach the handle bar, you reach downward to the sides and meet the steering bars that sort of wrap around from behind. These bars are covered with LED lights adding visibility and signaling functionality to the unit. On the right you have a kill switch, on the left there’s an on/off button and both bars have turn signal buttons. There’s also a horn and two variable speed throttle mechanisms (the one on the right is the throttle and the one on the left is the brake which activates power regeneration).

At first, I thought the YikeBike was kind of noisy but Sam explained that extra volume was added to create awareness because the YikeBike is typically used in pedestrian areas and this helps to alert people on sidewalks etc. to move out of the way. In addition to the whirring noises, there’s a beeping signal horn. Operating the bike is kind of tricky at first, especially with the standard two-wheel setup… but this provides the best turning radius and most compact fold. The Model V is YikeBike’s most affordable offering now which comes in three colors and includes a two-wheel balance bar accessory that can be swapped in for the standard single rear wheel. In my experience, even with the three-wheel setup (two wheel bar plus the large front wheel) it’s still not completely stable… and maybe that’s the point. You need to lean when turning and the two wheel bar has springs inside that make this possible while still improving stability. The original two-wheel bar could actually carry a passenger on the original YikeBike (they could stand on it and hold your shoulders) but I’m not sure if that’s the case with the newer Model V.

All things considered, the YikeBike is efficient and kind of addictive to ride… the balance challenge makes it fun and there’s a real sense of speed. Because it uses inflatable tires you get some improved comfort going over bumps and cracks but you could get a flat if you don’t keep the tubes full or cross a patch of thorns. Be very careful when swapping the single wheel with the two wheel option and vice versa to not strip the bolt threads and don’t lose the valve stem part because that’s required to inflate the front tire. Included with the bike is a neat little stand but you only get one so if you’re commuting with this thing you’ll either need to fold or lean it at one of your destination points. I like that the charger they included is a faster 5 Amp design and that it’s fairly small and light weight at ~1.5 lbs. I also appreciate the clip-in points for the handle bars and just how compact and neatly it folds. The YikeBike is truly unique and I’m amazed that after several years being on sale globally it’s still going strong and even offered in a more expensive lighter weight carbon fiber design.

In the video review we talked about how the YikeBike was featured on Storage Wars (Season 3, Episode 22). If you’d like to watch the full episode it can be purchased for a couple of bucks on YouTube here. Big thanks to Sam Townsend from Myron’s Extreme Machines in Fullerton for the opportunity to ride and review the YikeBike!

Pros:

  • The Model V comes standard with an articulated “3 wheel” rear axle that changes the YikeBike from a less stable two wheel to a three wheeler akin to a trike (you can still do the two-wheel design, it just comes with the three wheel setup as well)
  • Available in three professional colors including charcoal, silver and gold… you could match your phone, differentiate your unit from family/friends or optimize for visibility (with the more reflective silver)
  • High quality accessories including a canvas bag, high power five amp charger and metal stand… though only having one stand means that the unit might tip at one end of your commute, you could fold it down and stow it in the bag
  • Surprisingly tough and solid, Sam (who weighs ~260) rode it off a small curb several times without encountering issues
  • Fiberglass composite saddle base and post are designed to flex slightly as you ride, helping to smooth out little cracks and bumps
  • The motor delivers impressive power and acceleration, I had no issues zipping up to speed or climbing and it pulled Sam quite well
  • The folding design is truly brilliant (especially when using the standard single wheel in the back), the YikeBike gets very compact and even has pins so the handlebars click in and don’t flop around as you carry it
  • The charger includes several plug adapters for use in Asia, Europe and the US
  • It folds pretty quickly and gets extremely compact when folded, just 1.52 cubic feet – the size of a large briefcase
  • While 30 lbs isn’t exactly light, the unit is easy to lift… it’s not an especially awkward or floppy design once it’s stowed in the bag
  • Features regenerative braking to extend range and smooth out stops, the motor doesn’t freewheel when you coast so there’s a natural slowdown when you aren’t squeezing the throttle
  • Includes front and rear lights, turn signals, hazards and an electronic horn for improved safety (especially useful for evening riding if you use it to commute)
  • The YikeBike can be skinned or wrapped for branding and promotional purposes just like cars sometimes do

Cons:

  • The Model V is the most affordable YikeBike in production (at the time of this review) but it still costs nearly $5k which seems like a lot… though the compact and custom design really is unique
  • The inflatable tires could be more vulnerable to thorns and glass than run-flat foam/rubber solid options, also pinch flats could occur if the PSI drops over time so check them occasionally… in order to inflate the front tire you need to take the cover off and use a special valve stem adapter which is a bit more of a hassle and means you need to keep track of a unique accessory (don’t lose that part!)
  • The motor does produce noise, a sort of electronic whir mixed with regeneration sounds, it’s not the quietest electric transporter around and apparently they added this noise on purpose to create awareness given the intended use of riding around pedestrians on crowded sidewalks and streets
  • With the three-wheel stability option connected the YikeBike doesn’t fold as neatly or get as compact… it also weighs a bit more in this configuration and threading it or the standard single rear-wheel option on/off is a bit delicate, don’t strip the threads!
  • Because the charging port is located inside the front wheel hole, you can’t really plug it in when the unit is folded because that’s where the smaller rear wheel fits in
  • The turning radius is a bit limited because the front wheel has stoppers that keep it from swiveling too far in either direction
  • This thing takes a bit of practice to learn, I found that squeezing the front wheel between your calves helps and relaxing and leaning back a little

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Yikebike Reviews

YikeBike Carbon Review

  • MSRP: $4,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Ultra portable folding electric transport that rides like a bike without pedals, this is the utlra light weight version made with Carbon fiber. Folds to just 1.52 cubic feet, weighs less than 25 pounds and can be lifted…...

YikeBike Synergy Review

  • MSRP: $3,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Ultra portable folding electric transport that rides like a bike but lacks pedals. Folds and unfolds very quickly and easily, folded size is just 1.52 cubic feet...

YikeBike Fusion Review

  • MSRP: $3,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Ultra portable folding electric transporter that rides like a bike but doesn't use pedals. Folding and unfolding is extremely fast, folded size is just 1.52 cubic feet...


Be the First to Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

rich c
10 hours ago

I've been looking into haibikes. Do those have throttle? Which one is going to be around 30 mph with the most power for hills? How does it compare to Pesu?
No throttles on Haibike. In 2016 they had an "S" designation in the model. Now you can search for speed pedelec on the website. Nothing gets to 30, the max is 28mph. The CX version of the Bosch has a little more torque than the Performance model, but only like 5 N.m difference. Usually the mountain bikes are set for more torque. Unless you are climbing steep single trails in the woods, either will work fine. I have the Performance motors.

motostrano
10 hours ago

Hey! A reminder that Tomorrow is our EBIKE DEMO DAY all day at our store in Redwood City. 10AM to 6PM.
Test ride 30 different demo models and take advantage of our over 300 ebikes in stock on the floor! Industry reps will be on hand to give info and we'll be doing guided rides to the hills and the dirt if you need to get UP CLOSE with the performance of any model in their natural terrain.

Plus take advantage of "pre-black-friday" prices and inventory on all ebikes in the store. More information at
motostostrano.com

Demo starts at 100AM and ends at 6PM. Brands on hand: iZIP, Raleigh, Haibike, Cube, Moustache, Corratec, Orbea, Felt, BLIX.

In addition to our ebikes you can try any of our e-scooters!

Then, join us Sunday in Pleasanton for our Ebike Meet-up and ride the Iron Horse Trail from Pleasanton to Concord and back with a gang of e-bike riders just like you. http://www.meetup.com/ebiketreks

Text email or call with questions 650-918-6259

rich c
12 hours ago

Most ebikes, set at the highest assist level, are about the same setting as a wide open throttle. How often have you broken a chain in the past? I have 4600 miles on my eBikes, never had a chain break. Who doesn't want a supreme bike for $2000, but it's not going to happen. I have a cheap Sondors eBike, I have two expensive Haibike eBikes, the Sondors now gets used for only winter riding in snow and slush. The Haibikes are so much more pleasurable. Look for a new discounted old model year bike. Easy way to say $1500. That's what I did. Got two Class III Haibikes for $5600. The 2018 Specialized Turbo Vado and Como have integrated batteries and motors. Most people will have no idea you have assist. Beautiful designs as well!

1/1
bob armani
13 hours ago

There seems to be an error on Haibike's website. The new Trekking Xduro S 9.0 is depicted with the same frame as for 2017 (shown in the picture below). But the spec sheet mentions an IBC (Intube Battery Concept) frame coupled with a traditional Power Pack. So something doesn't quite add up. If you have an intube frame, it would make sense to ship with an intube battery. Either the image is wrong or the spec sheet is wrong. Unfortunately, I suspect the image is correct and the stated specs are wrong.

Link: https://www.haibike.com/en-US/US/bikes/695/2018-xduro-trekking-s-9-0?variant=3840424848

The picture on the website:

The accompanying description:

However, an Intube frame should look like this:

Edit: Checked it. The spec sheet is wrong on Haibike's website. The 2018 Trekking S-Pedelec model is basically the same as the 2017 model (meaning no Intube battery). The 2018 model is shown at 2:37 in this video:

Yeah, I see what you are referring to in 2.37. No IBC on the frame. So many models to choose from; just another way to confuse the consumer with almost too many models. I personally like the IBC on any model of an ebike to stay with the stealthy looks. Great move for Haibike, but long overdue IMHO! I assume most/all of the Yamaha models in the video have the new PBX motor?? Great video though for many new models to look forward to giving test rides and possible purchase! FUN!

donatari
1 day ago

You ever rode one? I have two, they are definitely not underpowered! I have 1300 miles on one, 1600 miles on the other, both are 2016s.. The full suspension bike will actually pull the air fork back when riding in the turbo mode. Any more power and the back tire will be spinning. I don't buy the new model year, so I don't pay list. But these things are an absolute joy to ride!

I haven’t actually! I don’t really have anywhere near me to test ride one, I’m new and just learning about this stuff. Im a pretty heavy guy (230lbs) and i just want to do about 15-20miles one way on torque sense mode for my commute. I thought with my weight I would need a higher wattage but you’re right i should test drive one. It’s just concerning when I see other bikes with 750-1000 w motors with 48v batteries and it all seems like quite a jump from just 350w 32V!

david salisbury
1 day ago

I have a haibike Sduro 2016 model ( 27.5) I have swapped out the stock wheels for Crank brothers Cobalt 3

rich c
1 day ago

anyone else think these are under powered at all at 350W? Especially for the price?

You ever rode one? I have two, they are definitely not underpowered! I have 1300 miles on one, 1600 miles on the other, both are 2016s.. The full suspension bike will actually pull the air fork back when riding in the turbo mode. Any more power and the back tire will be spinning. I don't buy the new model year, so I don't pay list. But these things are an absolute joy to ride!

Fitzy
2 days ago

Having big issues with drive train.

SRAM PC X1 chains are bad.. Stretched one in under 50 miles. Trying out the KMCx11E ( ebike specific chain) hopefully this lasts a few rides longer.
Just ordered a steel free hub, XT8000 cassette is eating the free hub. looking for advise on cassettes.. low end and swap often or High End and hope that they last longer.. I..e XTR - TI.

What model do you have? Is this original equipment?

Manu
2 days ago

Your pedelec has a wheel of 27.5+ that is equal in circumference to a wheel of 29 inches and both are of greater circumference to the 28 inches of the treking and marathon, that greater difference causes that at same cadence you have the same speed that the trekking and cross.you do not need the 48 tooth plate.

Take lighter tires you can remove 400 grams on 2 wheels and you will win easier to roll and more battery autonomy.
The treking and cross model is much simpler and is adapted for asphalt and track without holes, the position of the human body is 60º, more aerodynamic vs 90º MTB and the wheels are lighter than those of MTB, being lighter they help to roll more Easily with less effort and give more battery autonomy

NYCeWheels Connor
3 days ago

This model is the Elby C1, and is going to retail at $2,999. This is a more traditional frame and is much cheaper to make than the Elby S1's custom frame, which is the main factor in the price difference. No firm date of release, but it may not be available until 2019.

bronson
3 days ago

I have been riding a PIM Electric Bicycles since July of 2017. Loved it and the service so my wife now rides one also. I ride the Archer model and she is using the Zane ST. She is only 5'2 so the step through works great. She commutes on the sunny days, I am more of a die hard all weather rider. I had some planet bike EZ fenders installed with a Topeak rack. We both got the 380wh battery as now comes standard. The Price point is right, PIM switched to a manufacture direct model last summer. The entry level bike, which is still fairly well equipped sells for $1495. I paid $1795 for www.pimbicycles.com the Archer and we got the Zane ST for $1695. Both our bikes came with the Magura hydraulic disc brakes. The first post here looks like my bike but upgraded bars, etc. My battery gets me a 24 miles in the Seattle area with some hills. I do pedal and give the bike assist, change the power levels for a little more exercise on my way home. I am good with the 380wh battery but will probably pick up a 500wh for my wife when they come out. Their replacement 380wh battery runs $499. I picked another battery up for back up.

1/1
daniel58
3 days ago

I almost bought the Metro +. It has a lot to offer and I think since this summer they have upgrade their battery to a 13 amp hour probably to compete with the CCS.

Ultimately I didn't go with Magnum because I couldn't find a local dealer that had the bike in stock thus being a special order. And I heard mixed experiences from dealers about their customer service in the LA area.

I happened across a local dealer in SoCal (Electric Bike Center in Fullerton) that had one of the first the CCS bikes in stock, in their store and I got it because it rode so nice and the specs are hard to beat. Not many bikes at this price point have a torque\cadence sensor.... Metro was close. Yes Metro + had better stock tires but for me it was about what I could test ride.

Not knocking anyone's experiences with Juiced... I went in with full knowledge of their customer support, but honestly I haven't had any issues. My CCS came without a light, which they shipped (from China which was slow to get here)... and I bought the specialty wrench which took a long time to get because it came from China. I have talked to them once on the phone and 2 times on the chat app through the website without issue.

But honestly how widespread is the motor burn out and spoke issues? Yes I feel bad for the forum member that it happened to and it did take waaaay to long to resolve....(not giving Juiced a pass)... but really how high is the failure rate?

Again I hope they get their act together with stock and customer service....as noted on the forums. (for my own selfish future needs)

I love this bike (CCS)... for me its a solid platform, I enjoy riding it and its fast. But a first run product is going to have hickups..especially from a small company... in this Kickstarter world you need to expect some of that....if you don't then spend $3+ on a Trek.

In a different situation if a Metro+ was on the showroom floor vs a CCS, I probably would have purchased that....

Hopefully you can vent your frustration and then enjoy riding your Metro+

best of luck riding

Andy

Andy

I have considered many potential E-Bike brands and typical E-Bike consumer pitfalls in the process of doing ones usual due diligence homework prior to purchasing an actual E-Bike; I am also not in any rush by any stretch of the creative imagination; and I usually take a very very long time in considering all the pro's and con's prior to making any kind of potential actual E-Bike purchase as much ultimately has to be considered overall; now Magnum like many other potential E-Bike offerings also offer very compelling alternatives indeed to consider; they do have a rather extensive network of bicycle dealers that are willing to not only sell but are actually also willing to do all of the potential servicing, maintaining and even the inevitable potential e-bike repair services on ones e-bike in particular during the actual product warranty period timeframe; so this is a very important primary consideration indeed in of itself; I am also not afraid to consider other excellent E-Bike brands such as RadBikes with their very competitive RadCity, RadRover, even their RadWagon($1c599) competitive E-Bike market offering starting at only $1,499; is just another choice and possibility for potential consideration especially at its rather attractive cost competitive price point for the value and performance dollar given; their are also many other choices to potentially choose from at under $2k in particular; which may even include building ones own custom E-Bike from Luna Cycle(excellent provider of E-Bike Conversion kits) also as well;

Electric Bike Center out of Fullerton, CA is definitely one of the better electric bike shops with actual extensive experience servicing and potentially troubleshooting e-bike service issue(s), along with any other related associated e-bike maintenance and/or repair issues; my main primary issue with Juiced Bikes is their lack of totally committed primary support of their chosen bike dealers whether it be in California and/or nationwide(will naturally be worse support); Juiced Bikes has a major massive ongoing verbal and written communications failure problem with both their dealers and also their paying customers that is seriously affecting the ability to deliver normal expected proper quality customer servicing that a typical paying e-bike customer should expect to get without question, expectation or even having to ask or beg in the first place; after all they have just paid the stated perceived value of the offered asking price in "total and in full"; in order so that they can actually receive and fully expect to get the full expected measure of ones actual expected total E-Bike support that is due to them even on a post purchase basis; not this alternative half baked, half thought thru and/or half measure support for any future potential customer service support issues Juiced Bikes has become so well known and famous for instead;

now if this is Juiced Bikes great marketing idea of complete and totally committed E-Bike customer support; then they will likely only have further ongoing negative customer service support issues and/or concerns going forward that will only get more complex and ultimately cause the existing relationships that they have with their bike dealers(outside California) to de-evolve and ultimately further deteriorate to the point of not being able to effectively deliver an acceptable level of paying Juiced Bikes customer service post purchase support; as an very graphic illustration how "on earth" can one actually expect a local Juiced Bikes bike dealer to actually pull spare parts off of completely working multiple Juiced Bikes store display "for demonstration purposes only" models is yet again another effective highly illustrative objective demonstration of a purely insane, illogical and also irrational in nature highly ineffective business model practices(if one ever existed at all) if ones is to actually take Juiced Bikes as a serious E-Bike company that is actually going to compete with the other major E-Bike competitive companies(HaiBike/Bulls) and also for any potential Juiced Bikes E-Bike customer to actually take seriously prior to actually purchasing a Juiced Bikes E-Bikes;

now since I have not heard of any Juiced Bikes officially taking on any new actual customer service support initiatives to actual support ongoing potential paying Juiced Bikes customers from Tora Harris himself; I will assume that it's business as usual at Juiced Bikes HQ and that their will not be anything further done for their potential paying Juiced Bikes customers with potential future customer servicing issue(s) and/or concerns in case they actually run into any potential customer service issues during the actual twelve month product warranty period time frame; I could see Juiced Bikes also taking particular advantage of a potential paying Juiced Bikes customer who at ten months into the actual Juiced Bikes product warranty might be delayed "on purpose" to a future point in time where they are actually beyond the actual initial twelve month product warranty period time frame; and also when does the actual Juiced Bikes twelve month product warranty begin exactly; from the date one places one original order; or when one actually receives and accepts ones actual Juiced Bikes product from the asian Chinese factory at ones physical address; now it's literally quite true that if it's not actually in physical writing; then Juiced Bikes might literally make up the rules as Juiced Bikes sees or even deems fit to profit handsomely from; which really does not surprise me at all at this point if it did so;

now most potential Juiced Bikes customers may in fact not ride their E-Bike for many miles other than for the occasional recreational outings with family but what if the potential Juiced Bikes customers actually uses it for actual every day E-Bike travel commuting and actual every day recreational enjoyment bicycle tour riding which does in fact start to add on and stack up substantial miles quite rapidly(where will their investment in Juiced Bikes E-Bike end up-take a wild guess); will Juiced Bikes be able to actually deliver 20,000 miles for example in a typical four years like a typical Evelo fully equipped Orion Series E-Bike(four year warranty with 20,000 miles full unquestioned product warranty coverage) for example and what can one fully expect from ones local bike dealer in terms of actual Juiced Bikes E-Bike support to hopefully resolve any potential future inevitable Juiced Bikes aggravating customer service support issues that they may experience in the first four years of potential E-Bike ownership; my confidence is not high at all based from the written testimony feedback that I have seen so far based on the objective evidence I have seen thus far in navigating the various E-Bike forums that I have intercepted and continue to collect and analyze data on; now for the time being I have put Juiced Bikes "on hold-due to lack of Juiced Bikes from taking on definitive corrective action in so far as with their current unsatisfactory customer service practices" indefinitely until they actually get their current sadly lacking "customer services" act hopefully together sooner rather than later; its rather unsurprising just how "apathetic" and "uncaring" they actually turns out to be when Juiced Bikes actually is; once it has conveniently intercepted your money and somehow mysteriously vanished on the written promised basic excellent customer service support front; which is basically an irrational logical insult to the potential paying Juiced Bikes customer who has been dis-serviced and thrown directly under the bus; which is fine so long as its not me who personally gets thrown under the bus(naturally of course..my preference).

daniel58
3 days ago

This seems like a troll posting an advertisement for Magnum. Are you getting paid by the word? Why is it so long? Allow me to state, that I've had zero Customer Service issues with Juiced (I got a CC Air that needed throttle replacement), but I had to file an Amazon A-Z claim against Magnum to get my money back. Soooooooo, people's experiences with these companies aren't always the same.

I have considered many potential E-Bike brands and typical E-Bike consumer pitfalls in the process of doing ones usual due diligence homework prior to purchasing an actual E-Bike; I am also not in any rush by any stretch of the creative imagination; and I usually take a very very long time in considering all the pro's and con's prior to making any kind of potential actual E-Bike purchase; much has to be considered; now Magnum like many other potential E-Bike offerings also offer very compelling alternatives indeed to consider; they do have a rather extensive network of bicycle dealers that are willing to not only sell but are actually also willing to do all of the potential servicing, maintenaning and even the inevitable potential repair services on ones e-bike in particular; so this is a very important primary consideration indeed in of itself; I am also not afraid to consider other excellent E-Bike brands such as RadBikes with their very competitive RadCity, RadRover, even their RadWagon($1c599) competitive E-Bike market offering starting at only $1,499; is just another choice and possibility for potential consideration especially at its rather attractive cost competitive price point for the value and performance dollar given; their are also many other choices to potentially choose from at under $2k in particular; which may even include building ones own custom E-Bike from Luna Cycle(excellent provider of E-Bike Conversion kits) also as well;

Electric Bike Center out of Fullerton, CA is definitely one of the better electric bike shops with actual extensive experience servicing e-bike service, maintenance and repair issues; my main primary issue with Juiced Bikes is their lack of totally committed primary support of their bike dealers whether it be in California and/or nationwide(will naturally be worse support); Juiced Bikes has a major massive ongoing verbal and written communications failure problem with both their dealers and also their paying customers that is seriously affecting the ability to deliver normal expected proper quality customer servicing that a typical paying e-bike customer should expect to get without question, expectation or even having to ask or beg in the first place; after all they have just paid the stated perceived value of the offered asking price in "total and in full"; in order so that they can actually receive and fully expect to get the full expected measure of actual E-Bike support that is due to them even post purchase; not this half baked and/or half measure support customer service issues Juiced Bikes has become so well known and famous for instead;

now if this is Juiced Bikes great marketing idea of complete and totally committed E-Bike customer support; then they will likely only have further ongoing negative customer service support issues and/or concerns going forward that will only get more complex and ultimately cause the existing relationships that they have with their bike dealers(outside California) to de-evolve and ultimately further deteriorate to the point of being able to effectively deliver an acceptable level of paying Juiced Bikes customer service post purchase support; now to expect a local Juiced Bikes bike dealer to actually pull spare parts off of multiple Juiced Bikes store display demonstration models is yet again another effective highly illustrative objective demonstration of a purely insane, illogical and also irrational in nature highly ineffective business model(if one ever existed at all) if ones is to actually take Juiced Bikes as a serious E-Bike company that is actually going to compete with the other major E-Bike competitive companies(HaiBike/Bulls) and also for a potential Juiced Bikes E-Bike customer to actually take seriously;

now since I have not heard of any Juiced Bikes officially taking on any new actual customer service support initiatives to actual support ongoing potential paying Juiced Bikes customers from Tora Harris himself; I will assume that it's business as usual at Juiced Bikes HQ and that their will not be anything further done for their potential paying Juiced Bikes customers with potential customer servicing issue(s) in case they actually run into any potential customer service issues during the actual twelve month product warranty period time frame; I could see Juiced Bikes also taking particular advantage of a potential paying Juiced Bikes customer who at ten months into the actual Juiced Bikes product warranty being delayed on purpose to a future point in time where they are actually beyond the actual twelve month product warranty period time frame; and also when does the actual Juiced Bikes product warranty begin exactly; from the date one places one original order; or when one actually receives and accepts ones actual Juiced Bikes product from the asian Chinese factory at ones physical address; now it's literally quite true that if it's not actually in physical writing; then Juiced Bikes can literally make up the rules as Juiced Bikes sees or even deems fit to profit from; which really does not surprise me at all at this point if it did;

now most potential Juiced Bikes customers may in fact not ride their E-Bike for many miles other than for the occasional recreational outings with family but what if the potential Juiced Bikes customers uses it for actual every day E-Bike travel commuting and actual every day recreational enjoyment bicycle tour riding which does in fact start to add on and stack up the miles quite rapidly; will Juiced Bikes be able to actually do 20,000 miles for example in four years like a typical Evelo fully equipped Orion Series E-Bike for example and what can one fully expect from ones local bike dealer in terms of actual Juiced Bikes E-Bike support to resolve any potential inevitable customer service support issues that they may experience in the first four years of potential E-Bike ownership; my confidence is not high at all based from the written testimony feedback that I have seen on the E-Bike forums that I have intercepted and continue to collect and analyze; for the time being I have put Juiced Bikes "on hold-due to lack of taking definitive corrective action" indefinitely until they actually get their act hopefully together sooner rather than later.

Dewey
3 days ago

Is the Liv Amiti-E+2 basically the same as the Giant Explore E+3 mid-step model with a different paint job and an extra small size option?

Shaggy
5 days ago

Last year, prices got most marked down close to Christmas. But then most models quickly sold out, leaving the extra smalls and extra larges mostly. There were complaints about not enough Haibikes being imported into US. Is that situation the same this year?

I wasn't looking to spend this much, but this sure does tickle my fancy. Any opinions about discount or the model itself? It's a 2017 model with the 500watt battery and Intuvia display which I prefer over purion.

Haibike XDURO FullSeven Carbon 8.0 - 2017 model
List Price: $8,499.00, Current Price: $5,999.0, Savings: $2,500.00
http://www.motostrano.com/Haibike-XDURO-FullSeven-Carbon-80-2017-p/xdfs80.htm

thanks to all in advance!

Leandro
6 days ago

We have a demo model here in our Brooklyn shop. There has been a lot of research and development put into the Copenhagen wheel and that is evident in its design. It responds really well and has a lot of neat features. Aside from only having a 1 year warranty, it seems to be a really well built system and the service team is quick to respond with help.

The Copenhagen hub, spokes, nipples, rim, tube, tire, and cassette/single speed cog are all included. You can build your own wheel on their website.

Dfstarman
7 days ago

I don't have that model. I have the Unisex Comfort PLus

Dfuser
7 days ago

I am a huge Vespa fan (we own two and rent them frequently at vacation locations). Last year, Vespa announced its electric model, but so have pushed its date out to 2018. Glad to see that the other side of the house got out this beauty.

If this EBike is as well made as Vespa scooters and morotcycles, you will have years of happy riding.

By the way Vespa has some other cuties, like this "robot" luggage carrier. http://www.chipchick.com/2017/02/piaggio-vespa-gita.html. Not sure how practical it is, but if money is no object....

Lin B
1 week ago

From the email that comes form signing up on the ShareRoller.com web site this week, it looks like it could take more than three (3) months to actually receive a ShareRoller v4 if you are trying to "Pre-Order."

1 month -- until the web site relaunch in "approximately four weeks"--that is when you actually Pre-Order
2 months -- the SRv4 ships "8 weeks" after "order placement"
3 months total delay from right now

I assume original Indiegogo buyers will not have to wait that long, but I don't know. [Note: I have no affiliation with ShareRoller in any way. I am just guessing.]

With an eight (8) week lag between ordering a product and having it shipped, that makes me think that at least for now they are going to take orders until they get enough to buy more parts to make the ordered SRv4s. That is, there will be no stock of SRv4s to pull from; they will be made only after they are ordered. Disappointing but understandable. I suppose a Tesla Model 3 is a $1 billion version of that (though the deposits don't equal $1 billion).

When I was chatting with Jeff, prior to my taking over a backer position, he told me 6-8 weeks once available for purchase at retail. I think the quote is long in part because retail customers, unlike crowdfunders, are not okay with stuff being late, lol. So I'm guessing he's added a little time in there because s**t happens. It also gives him 3 months to get clear of all IGG orders and any issues that arise from them. I suspect he will have the parts ready for the retail units (wouldn't make sense to make small orders; I'm assuming he ordered excess from the start for any replacements + retail sales for a while). So the retail units will just require assembly and quality testing before he can ship them. But, like I said, I hope he is giving himself a fair amount of leeway because a few negative reviews on retail units due to delay could tank him.

Allie Miller
1 week ago

From the email that comes form signing up on the ShareRoller.com web site this week, it looks like it could take more than three (3) months to actually receive a ShareRoller v4 if you are trying to "Pre-Order."

1 month -- until the web site relaunch in "approximately four weeks"--that is when you actually Pre-Order
2 months -- the SRv4 ships "8 weeks" after "order placement"
3 months total delay from right now

I assume original Indiegogo buyers will not have to wait that long, but I don't know. [Note: I have no affiliation with ShareRoller in any way. I am just guessing.]

With an eight (8) week lag between ordering a product and having it shipped, that makes me think that at least for now they are going to take orders until they get enough to buy more parts to make the ordered SRv4s. That is, there will be no stock of SRv4s to pull from; they will be made only after they are ordered. Disappointing but understandable. I suppose a Tesla Model 3 is a $1 billion version of that (though the deposits don't equal $1 billion).

bob armani
1 week ago

Hi,

I haven't been here on EBR for a long, long time. I don't have an Easy Go, I have the Evo Street 2015 model. The Easy Go models came out in 2016 I think. Cheers!
Okay great! Thanks for clarifying! Have a great day!

PowerMe
1 week ago

Hello Power Me- Are you discussing the 'Easy Go Street'? Looks like that is the bike displayed in your member photo. Just wanted to clarify. Thanks!

Hi,

I haven't been here on EBR for a long, long time. I don't have an Easy Go, I have the Evo Street 2015 model. The Easy Go models came out in 2016 I think. Cheers!

Dfstarman
2 weeks ago

Thanks That was a good choice but I went in another direction with a Piaggio Wi-bike Comfort Plus model , I am waiting for it to arrive.
Mid drive-Belt drive , Nuvinci CVT transmission.

007vsMagua
2 weeks ago

Hey Jim, still online?

It's been over a year since I started thinking about e-bikes. My finances have improved so I'm almost ready to climb onboard. I have a new favorite bike: the RadCity. With Winter coming, I'm tempted to order one now and just have it in my living room with flashing Christmas lights hanging on it until Spring. But then again, the current RadCity is well over a year old and considering Rad Power Bikes advancement I suspect a new model should be on the horizon. My gut tells me to wait. (See: RadRhino-Europe _ YouTube)

There are other considerations like: Helmet; Tool Kit; Bags; Spare Inner Tube; Water Bottle; Cell Phone; Better Lighting?

I could think of all those other items as stocking stuffers:)

PS_ Cort, Maybe you could head back to Seattle and take a RadCity on a 20 mile off-road minor mountain bike trail and share your thoughts.

Eoin Kirwan
1 month ago

I want to buy that bike helmet! Any leads?

jerry P.
4 months ago

A fool and his money are soon parted. STUPID.

valveman12
5 months ago

I think the Yikebike is cool and definitely unique, however for me it is just an expensive toy with not a lot of practical uses. I would sooner spend $5K on a good electric bicycle. I think Yike is the sound you make when you hear the price.

MUHIRWA Aimable
6 months ago

Its awesome but expensive...

RC
1 year ago

They need to reengineer this

in2food
1 year ago

5K is a lot of six mile cab rides

Gary Lazo
1 year ago

I think you spend to much time on these e bikes that cost way to much for any sane person to own I thought the whole idea of owning an e bike was to have a cheap way to get around .Your not one of us normal people Im not going to watch your vids anymore

Lucas Lucas
1 year ago

In the netherlands we use that Asia one wtf

Carl Hewitt
1 year ago

It's also illegal in Europe because it has no brakes....

Dax Wagner
1 year ago

Watch the video. He said it has regenerative brakes.

that one guy
1 year ago

Jarrod and brandi!!

Lillian
1 year ago

I tried this before they came out with the rear wheels. I was too short for it. Now I'm glad I opted for the CityBug2S and Segway MiniPro (I already have a Segway PT). But I'm happy that this company is continuing to produce great products.

Grouchy Dude
1 year ago

too noisey

Kamalakrsna Devi
1 year ago

"YIKE" !!! what u say when u hear the price 4 that BIKE. thats why "YikeBike" this is 4 rich kids.

Sean Ó Briain
1 year ago

It looks cool, but for that price - it's really just an expensive toy. Better off getting an electric bicycle or scooter. More range, more practical and better value for money.

Fredrik Hansson
1 year ago

Hmm, cool? At this price, range and speed are too low for being worth it. This is not a serious solution to an existing problem, it's just a fun toy. Thanks for a good review!

Tomatoes & Lemonade W/ Weird Fishie
1 year ago

Hey- could you guys do a review of the 800w boom moped/scooter? It looks sweet.

James Ledesma
2 years ago

6 miles $5,000 that's pretty expensive you can get if you can get a new three-wheel Elio car that's coming out and get 85 miles to the gallon and not have to plug it in nobody makes it through mixed up that rear wheel on that thing electrified our talk in a total different car

ElectricRideReview.com
2 years ago

+James Ledesma The Elio looks awesome! I love the concept and am excited to see more and more affordable transport. The Yikebike is a bit odd in what it offers and how it looks... it's a niche product but it's also kind of wonderful in a way that it exists at all :)

Eskil Eriksson
2 years ago

Nice review, cool product. Saw your earlier video on it, happy to hear more about it. Btw., every tire shop that service heavy trucks (or any double mounted wheels) have valve stem adapters to sell.

ElectricRideReview.com
2 years ago

+Eskil Eriksson Oh, that's great! Yeah, Sam was talking about being careful not to lose it and I figured it was pretty rare. Thanks for the tip about replacement Eskil ;)

DanieI Joseph
2 years ago

It's cool, but it's over priced & noisy compared to a 'Ninebot One' electric unicycle.

Lillian
1 year ago

I get my CityBug2S tomorrow! I have a Segway i2, and am getting the Ninebot Segway Mini Pro next month.

DanieI Joseph
1 year ago

+ElectricRideReview.com I'd say a 'citybug 2' electric scooter or evolve electric skateboard are the best options for most people as they are easy to ride as most people are familiar with these modes of transport.
I like the fun & compactness of an electric unicycle 'Ninebot One P' as it can fit in my gym locker/boot of my car easily, plus tackle off roading & tricks one you've learnt to ride it. :)
fazer12779 if you want to check my basic videos out.

ElectricRideReview.com
1 year ago

+DanieI Joseph Which one do you ride most? Do you have a favorite or one that you'd recommend as being the most useful?

DanieI Joseph
2 years ago

+ElectricRideReview.com I have one. Been riding for two years now.
I've had airwheel - ninebot - electric skateboard - mini moto - go ped etc

ElectricRideReview.com
2 years ago

+DanieI Joseph Yeah, I'm hoping to check that thing out one of these days. Ninebot has a whole line of self balancing stuff and it sounds like they own Segway now? Have you tried the Ninebot One?

Paul Carter
2 years ago

7-10 miles is ridiculous and totally useless when it takes 1.5-2 hrs to recharge.

The new stuff has to be hitting 20 miles min to be of any use / value.

Paul Carter
1 year ago

yes

ElectricRideReview.com
1 year ago

+Paul Carter Cool, that's the one with the pressure sensitive pads on top?!

Paul Carter
2 years ago

Ecco Recco M5 does 8-10 miles and costs $1300. I had one and loved it but I really need 15-20 miles. I ordered a ZBoard pearl a yr ago which should do the job.

ElectricRideReview.com
2 years ago

+Paul Carter I'd like to see that kind of performance as well but most people only need a few miles to/from their office when public transportation is also a part of the equation. Keeping it light and more "affordable" was probably the major focus... even though it is still so expensive due to the custom design ;)

Clark Guo
2 years ago

+Paul Carter It can go 20kms which is 12.5 miles within one full charge. Big battery, big weight, that is the technology. It is using the same battery cell as Tesla's. 20 kms is a long way for bikes, also it can be charged in very short time.